Collge Logo


In 1977, Nigeria devised a strategy for meeting the health needs of her citizens by adopting the Basic Health Service Scheme (BHSS). This concept coincided with that of Primary Health Care (PHC) of 1978. The Federal Government concluded that there was a need to increase the strength of middle level manpower in the Health Care Industry, thus, Health Institutions of relevant status were established to train such health personnel required.

The College of Health Technology, Ilesa then in Oyo State and now in Osun State was established.

Academic programmes started in the College in September 1977 with two cadres of officers viz: Public Health Superintendents now called Environmental Health Technologists and Community Health Assistants who are now known as Community Health Extension Workers (CHEW). These two cadres took off from Muroko Road, Ilesa temporary site near the present State Hospital, Ilesa.

Both past and present tutors worked relentlessly at the temporary site between 1977 and 1985 when the College moved to her present and permanent site in January, 1985.

The College’s highest ruling authority from September, 1977 to the time Osun State was created was the Oyo State Ministry of Health under the Secondary Health Care and Training Department. The baton changed hands to the authority of the Osun State Ministry of Health under the Secondary Health Care Department between August, 1990 and January, 1991.

By first February, 1991, the College was transferred to the Directorate of Primary Health Care in the same Ministry of Health. By the middle of 1991, more courses were introduced, these included; Community Health Officers Course, Community Health Supervisor Course and the Health Assistant Cadre. Some of the courses which had suffered some set back in the previous year were resuscitated. All these were made possible by the courageous input of the then Director of Primary Health Care, late Dr. B. AdeyeOluwa.

TThe College’s highest ruling was the Directorate of Primary Health Care and Disease Control. Between February 1991 and 1997, the College had two satellite campuses viz Ikirun and Iwo. At Ikirun campus Junior Community Health Extension Workers (JCHEW) were trained, and at Iwo campus, Health Assistants were trained. All trainees ran programme with the students on the main campus at Ilesa. Satellite campuses were later phased out due to logistic hindrances. In order to move the institution forward and to make her be at par with institutions of similar status, a bill formally establishing the College was presented to the Osun State House of Assembly through the then Honorable Commissioner for Health, Pharmacist ‘Lanre Afolabi, who supported the bill and presented same to the then Governor, His Excellency, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola from where the bill got to the House of Assembly.

The bill passed through readings and deliberations in the State House of Assembly for the most part of the year 2004 and first half of the year 2005. It got the Governor’s assent on 8th July 2005 to become Osun State College of Health Technology Ilesa, Establishment Law No. 2, 2005 duly endorsed by His Excellency Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola but still under the Directorate of Primary Health Care and Disease Control of the Ministry of Health.

In the year 2000, the College sent 24 Higher National Diploma graduates of Environmental Health Technology for the National Youth Service (N.Y.S.C), while six others got Exemption Certificate having passed the age of 30 years at their course completion.

In a bid for the College to be fully an autonomous Health Institution, the State House of Assembly through the Speaker of the House Rt. Hon. Timothy Owoeye presented a bill for full autonomous establishment of the College. This bill was assented to by the Governor His Excellency Mr Adegboyega Oyetola on 22nd April, 2020 after passing through first and second reading to become full fledge autonomous Osun State College of Health Technology, Ilesa (Establishment) Law, 2020 and a Seven (7) Man Governing Board which was Chaired by Hon. Bisi Odewumi was inaugurated in January, 2022. The House of Assembly on 17th November, 2022 moved the College to the Ministry of Education as the supervising Ministry which would be of immense benefits to the College and the State in general.

The College is currently being administered under the Provostship of Dr Lateef Olarewaju, Raheem following his appointment on 23rd February, 2023 by Osun State Governor His Excellency Senator Jackson Nurudeen Ademola Adeleke as the first substantive Provost.


Stay updated, follow all the news and Events of the college as it unfold.

General Objective

The institution believes in equal distribution of health resources, as people everywhere have common basic needs for existence. The College objectives include training of competent health care professionals to meet the ever changing health needs of individuals and community, with a view to attaining a level of health that will make an individual productive and useful to himself, his family, community and the society at large.

Vision Statement

To be a health training institution par excellence, producing competent and efficient graduates, providing modern Primary Health Care services


  1. To provide courses of study, training and research in health technology leading to attainment of Certificates, Professional Diplomas, and National and Higher National Diplomas.
  2. To provide avenue for continuing education in health and health care related fields.
  3. To provide avenue for re-training of health workers.
  4. To train middle level man power in the health sector.
  5. .

Principal Officers

Meet Our Abled and Capable Principal Officers.

Provost Pix

Dr Lateef Olarewaju Raheem
(PhD, MPH, Fmlscn)


Dr. Segun Michael Omole

Acting Deputy Provost Academics and Director, School of Health Information Mgt

Mrs. M.T Oparinde

Acting Deputy Provost Administration
Dean Pix

Mr. Bello O.R.
(B.Tech. (Ind. Chem.))

Acting Director of Student Affairs
Bursar Pix

Mr. Yinka Olaleye
(HND, Bsc, ACA)

Acting Bursar
Registrar Pix

Mr. M.A. Afolabi
B.Sc Politics/philosophy and Economics, M.Sc Public Administration

Librarian Pix

Mrs. Biola Ibitoye

Acting Librarian

Mrs. Oyehan Funmiso Omololara
(CHO, B.Sc)

Acting Director of Medical Services
HOD Dental Image

Mr. Bello Mufutau

Acting Director, School of Dental Health Sciences.
HOD Communty Image

Mr. Lateef Olaoye Alesinloye
(Health Care Tutor, Bsc(Edu) Health Ed, MSC (Env Health Mgt)

Acting Director, School of Comm. Health Sciences


Acting HOD Dental Surgery Department
HOD Env Health Image

SAN. Sunday Bamidele Adebayo

Acting Director, School of Environmental Health Sc. & HOD. Public Health
Deputy Provost Pix

Mr. Simeon Olu. Adenrele
(B.Sc., M.Sc., PGDE, M&E Public Health O.A.U. Ile-Ife)

HOD General Health Studies

Mrs. S. Adebayo

Acting HOD Community Health

SAN. Adebiyi Adebare

Acting HOD Environmental

Mrs. Busoye O.A

Acting HOD Health Information Mgt

Pharm. Michael R.O

Acting HOD Pharmacy Technician

Mrs. Apara Mary .O

Acting HOD Medical Laboratory Technician

Mr. Ojesola J.O

Acting HOD Dental Therapy

Dr. Rasheed Kolawole
(B.Sc., M. Tech., Ph.D)

Acting Director Public Health and General Health Studies